Beauty through His Eyes

Standard

Since beginning to cover my head I have noticed a lot of women here in Phoenix who cover their heads as well! Not just in my own parish, but in various places in the city. I noticed one woman at Denny’s the other day. Her husband looked to be military and they appeared…I use appeared very lightly as I do not know by fact…to be caucasian as well. How wonderful! She was wearing a hijab style scarf I suppose you could call it. She looked so simple but elegant all at the same time. Oh how I find it so wonderful. I also noticed women at malls, even two more today. Who were dressed in what appeared to be complete hijab and their head covering style of choice was more old fashioned I guess where the headcovering went past their elbows I think. I had a really hard time finding a picture to show exactly what I mean for some odd reason lol. So picture any picture of Mother Mary with her head covered and how long her veil was, thats how these wonderful ladies were covered. As I had mentioned before, I do not cover while out with my husband. Well I went to the mall with my sister in law to grab a present for hubbys birthday, and failed to cover my head 😦 I felt the guilt when I saw these ladies. Its really hard not covering while out with my husband. Im not sure why yet. As I thought originally I was only being called to cover while away from my husband. I feel closer to the Lord somehow while covered. If any of you ladies reading this have tried covering, Im sure you know what I mean. Maybe its not the covering itself, but the act of submission which does it for me. This has got to be the biggest thing God has asked me to do. No other time has it been an outward submission for everyone to see. I do feel nervous, and wonder what others think. I know I should not and that I do not owe anyone an explanation. I hope one day these feelings will end. I am now thinking about praying about full time headcovering. Although Im still not quite sure the rules for being on a military base and headcovering…and I do not want to cause my darling husband any problems.

But as always the Lord’s will be done. As I think of this, I remember watching the nativity story this weekend. The way they portrayed Mary coming back to town and everyone SEEING her obviously WITH CHILD…and the dream Joseph has about stoning her. Oh my! I never thought about what a social outcast it had made her! Those who didnt know the truth thought her to be an unpure woman! Oh if only they knew! She was in purest form at the time. Carrying the Lord himself. Growing him in her womb! Oh the joy that must have filled her. But can you imagine the knots in her stomach as she endured the long ride back from Elizabeths. All the praying she did? Im sure she was sick to her stomach…maybe even asking herself “Why did I do this? Lord why must you ask ME of this?” But then again maybe God had already given her the strength to face those people. God will never give us more than we can handle. However, he cant give us the strength or the guidance if we do not ask and are receptive.  Oh how I want to be receptive to everything he has to offer! The Lord can tell us great and mighty things if only we ask 🙂 Jeremiah 33:3  My favorite verse! I believe it to be the first verse I memorized as a young child. The Lord has answered my cries, calls, pleads, and prayers numerous times, that I am SO very greatful for! Now, I have a thirst. I want to experience Him and his word full force. Although I do not discipline myself to do so. Do any other ladies out there have the same problem? I am thinking of starting a new challenge the first of the year…Along with continuing the flylady challenge of course…but a religious challenge. I want to learn as much as I can! Anyone want to join me? What do you think God is challenging you to do? Or what would he challenge you to if you were to be receptive? 5 minutes of Bible study in the mornings? 30 minutes? Morning Prayer? Family Bible study? Head covering? Modest clothing? Community Service? Anything else come to mind? Please do share!

God Bless have a wonderful Day!

About amotherslove4ever

I am a stay at home christian mother to two boys; ages 4yrs old(D) and 14 months old(R). I am also an army wife to my darling husband J. We are considered "old fashioned" I think. We are homeschooling the boys right now. We have also tried cloth diapers, babywearing, and now trying Elimination Communication. We are christians and we will soon be taking classes to be catholic christians! We love the lord and our family. We hope to have more children in the near future. God Bless. I hope you enjoy our family journeys.

One response »

Leave a Reply

