Days will be Challenging

Standard

Lately my 4 year old-D. has been fighting authority and today was yet again another challenging day. We have tried so many different ways of managing his anger and outbursts. In the last year, hubby and I have decided we do NOT agree with spanking our children. Now for some people they wonder, well then you are just going to let them be spoiled and run amuck? No. I didnt say we dont believe in discipline. We just dont agree with spanking. Well lately I have exhausted all other gentle methods. So today when he decided to punch my mother in the face during being transported to his room for time out, I had her pull his pants down so I could swat him on the butt just once. Well, I think it hurt me much more than it hurt him. Within a few hours he was right back to being mouthy and not minding. So, that was an interesting experiment. I still do not agree with spanking. It doesnt teach them anything, however, I do believe that if used correctly it can be used to get a childs attention. Spanking should NEVER be done in anger! This is something I cannot stress enough. Never spank your child while angry. It becomes a way for you to deal with YOUR anger instead of disciplining the child. But now we are back to more “gentle” methods of disciplining. I know my darling D just needs a strict schedule and hopefully come next week I will be able to provide that for him. Im also trying to keep him from watching too much television. Today when they came downstairs from nap time, we just left the tv off. They played for a good 2 hours with that dog on thing off! It was so fabulous! I couldn’t believe it. And you know what? D was actually being nice for the most part. He hasnt been this bad since before I implemented a strict schedule shortly after becoming pregnant with R. We learned that he needed structure and activity. That resulted in having to discipline him less. So, if we can just make it through the next few days. Then mommy will be back to normal and we can have a good schedule! Yay! I also wanted to cite a scripture from todays (13th) proverb:  “He who spares his rod hates his son,
But he who loves him disciplines him promptly.” Prov. 13:24 I like that the word discipline is used here. It does not say spanks him, or hits him promptly but disciplines him promptly. Thats something I need to get back to is doing is punishment right then and there and always being consistent.

I really enjoyed todays proverb. There were so many useful scriptures in there. Well, the whole Bible is useful lol. But There were a lot of scripture that jumped out at me I guess I could say. Im looking forward to reading tomorrows!

Today was day 6 in the FlyLady Challenge. Im going to see if Im able to still keep up with it while writing for the Lord. If it comes in between that the FlyLady challenege will be put on hold until the Lord is done using me for the HomeMaking study. So, today I tidy-ed up our main HotSpot. Its one of our kitchen counters, we like to use it as a catch all. We are all guilty of it. Even the kiddos, well D cause R cant really reach yet lol. But his stuff gets placed there as well. So, I moved some stuff upstairs and cleaned things up a bit. I also brought out a holiday smell candle and lit it in hopes to cheer things up a bit in the house. It was nice 🙂 Only took a few minutes to do. And made me feel good cause I was able to complete it! Monday I should be able to get back to getting up and getting dressed to my shoes. Right now I cant wear anything but nightgowns as it hurts my incisions. So, flylady please forgive me 😉

Day 7: Today we are going to add a new habit to our before bed routine. Tonight before you hop in bed; I want you to pick out what clothes you are going to wear tomorrow. You can lay them on a chair, on a shelf or hook in the bathroom or on a hanger on your closet door knob.

This will be done on Monday of course. As I do not believe in doing structured cleaning tasks on the weekends. The weekends are for rest and family time. Only maintenance cleaning should be done on the weekends and everyone helps 🙂 If the house is kept during the week you should have no problems come Saturday.

So for tomorrow, Im hoping to be able to go pick up my glasses and get some groceries. Then, I have a whole mess of homework to get finished. Have a blessed day!

About amotherslove4ever

I am a stay at home christian mother to two boys; ages 4yrs old(D) and 14 months old(R). I am also an army wife to my darling husband J. We are considered "old fashioned" I think. We are homeschooling the boys right now. We have also tried cloth diapers, babywearing, and now trying Elimination Communication. We are christians and we will soon be taking classes to be catholic christians! We love the lord and our family. We hope to have more children in the near future. God Bless. I hope you enjoy our family journeys.

Leave a comment